Disclaimer

I don’t know how to blog.

Honestly, I don’t think anyone knows how to blog, in the same way that no one really knows how to make art, or to live life, or do a lot of other big and really weird thing. We have tips, scattered knowledge, plenty of experience even, but that isn’t the same as knowing how to do it. We’re trying more than just doing.

There is a disclaimer here because I am nervous, very nervous, as everyone is about a lot of things. I want it to be known that I don’t know what I’m doing so that people will forgive me when I do it wrong. I am no stranger to disclaimers like this, I just don’t write them on blogs often. It’s okay for me to be nervous about this though, to accept it, to tell other people.

Saying it may also be good for those of you out there who have trouble saying it yourselves. I think that in time, as you do something more and more, it is more important that your confidence grows rather than your skill. Even skill is hard to understand, and there’s no point in defining yourself by incomprehensible things.

Even after years and years of trying we cannot know – we will never know. We can only try. That is enough.

 

Isn’t it funny how when you start this out you’re really just talking to yourself?

One thought on “Disclaimer

Leave a Reply

